Photographing soap bubbles

Hi,

yesterday I found a new photo idea and needed to try it straight away. ;) Of course I want to show you the results and tell you how I done that. :)

After I was playing around now with water drops, things which fall into water (splish-splash) and macro, it was time today for soap bubbles.

Yes, right. This bubbles which children like to let them fly in the air. ;)

Actually I had straight 2 ideas. If you let a soap bubble fly outside in the sunshine, then you was probably amazed about the colorful round bubbles.

Why this bubbles are so colorful… is complicated :D But I wanted to catch this colors.

On the other side is it creating really amazing pictures when the bubble burst.

And when you read this both points, then it should be quick clear that the 2nd point should be much harder to achieve then the 1st. Because the bubble is bursting so quick that it is not possible to catch for the human eye. But the practice is a bit different.

So, first step. Trying to catch the colors of the bubble.

I was reading a bit in the internet about it and they said the light is the most important. No, problem, i have 2 flashes with slave mode (so, I can remote control them). Then – of course – you need soap water. It’s not hard to make. Just add a bit water to a glass, plus a bit soap. For the fist step I’ve added as well a bit glycerin, that the bubbles are more stable and I’ll have more time to shoot them.

The setup was very simple. The glas on my desk, a flash from the top, the other one from the side, my desk lamp on the position of the bubble (that I see something while focusing). In front of the desk my E-620 with the 35mm macro lens.

Das Feuer in der Blase

And then I’ve started. Blowing a bubble on the straw and putting the straw with the bubble on the glass, that I can focus it.

And then trying to focus manually. Because the automatic focus doesn’t work with the look trough bubble. But also manual is it not really easy to see and focus on one ‘wall’ of the bubble.

And then pushing the shutter… and quick it was clear… it doesn’t work like that.

The bubble was still ‘invisible’ and only the pieces of it, which the Softbox lighted up was colorful.

And then the improvisation started. I don’t have a bigger softbox. So I was building up paper wall through which I tried to flash, to get a bigger light-wall. But due to the ball shape of the bubble I would have needed a light-wall from the top, left, right, bottom and front… :( Damn.

So, I just got results with partly colorful bubbles.

I think a good solution would be to try it again outside, in the sun. But then there shouldn’t be any wind at all.

But a few interesting shots I could take.

Das Meisterstück des Versuchs

Ok, then it was time for the second part of the shooting. The bursting soap bubble.

The setting was the same. Flash from the left, flash from the top and the camera on a tripod in front of the desk. The focus was this time fix on the collusion object.

Soap bubbles are very unstable objects… that is at least what I know about it. So, my thought was that I just need something on which I can hit the soap bubble and it should burst. Should work…

I fixed a toothpick on the desk and made a bubble and… ‘hit’… the toothpick was in the bubble… but no sign of bursting. … Great…

Then I remembered the Glycerin in the water. So, I needed a new mixture. Just water with a bit of soap. And the next try… the same result. But the bubbles was much more unstable already. So, I just needed a bigger collusion object. An old candy seemed a good idea (which even looks good on the picture :D ).

But even the candy doesn’t gave me the result I expected. The soap bubble was attaching now to the candy and left the straw. … Looked also nice, but not what I wanted.

And then I found the trick. I had to blow up the bubble until the surface turned red-green. Seems like then the wall is so thin that it burst easily. (I think the colors vary by the mixture.)

So, when I had the bubble in this condition, then it was bursting as soon as it was hitting the object.

Seifenblase platzt von oben nach unten

And now it was just a question of timing. And this is also hard (if you do it manually). The bubble is bursting in millisecond, to fast for the human eye.

In one moment it’s there and in the next it’s gone.

So, I had a lot of pictures with bubble and a lot without bubble… and some I catch in the right moment.  :)

So it is like always… not easy, but the results are great. Especially the bursting bubbles are amazing. Didn’t thought they will turn out so nice.

And with better equipment it could be even better.

By the way, maybe a few words to that.

It is very important to use flashes with a short burning time. Because the flash is freezing the moment, not the camera.

I used the setting 1/128 with my Yongnuo YN560II. That is the lowest power I can set up. But it seems like ok. As faster as better.

So, I hope you liked the article and if you have questions… just leave me a comment. Of course you can also leave a comment without question ;)

CU

Gordon

Germany again the bogeyman

Hi.

I wrote yesterday already about the current situation in Cyprus about the expropriation of the private finances. There is not much new yet. At least nothing concrete. As far as I was reading yet, there is no decision made in the parliament yet. The president tries to renegotiate.

Without comment

But I just saw something else on Facebook. The picture beside The pictures beside and below have been posted in a group in Facebook (just a small selection of the last 10 hours). And the pictures have been shared and liked a lot. As comment you can read hate slogans about Germany.

And honestly… it makes me sick. Doesn’t matter what happen in the EU… it’s the fault of Germany. And Angela Merkel is the bogeyman no. 1 (because federal chancellor of Germany).

Angela Merkel is showing a woman the middle finger, while she is trying to get money from the ATM

But to our current story… if the people, which created this pictures,that the decision for this compulsory charge is made by the finance minister of the EU and not from Angela Merkel or Germany. I doubt it.

And this is just the current example. I saw this kind of pictures already in the time when Greece got 80 Billion Euro from the EU(!). Till now is Germany the most hated country… in the countries which got aid payments.

I am really not a big patriot (if you’ll get this thought now). Bit what enough is, is enough.

If these people know that Germany is the country which is paying the highest percentage of the EU bailout fund? Germany pays 29,07% of the money in the big pot and is no. 1, straight after is France with 21,83% and no 3 is Italy with 19,18%.

Here is Germany now part of the Cyprus conflict. Now is also our fault.

Which means that the German citizen are paying 392,40 Billion Euro to help other countries… and they are hated for that. I was wondering already, back the time when in Greece the fight with hate paroles against Germany started, why Germany wasn’t showing the middle finger and then bringing the money back in the own country. If help gets hate as reply… sorry, but every normal human would have been canceled the friendship already.

Another ‘nice’ art work. Only comment so far: ‘Hitler woman’ … any further comment needed?

And why it is now especially Germany… and not France or Italy or any other country… or maybe finally the ones which really make the decisions and the restriction: The EU … that knows probably nobody anymore.

The people just know one thing… When the shit hits the fan… then it’s Germany and Angela Merkels fault… for sure… without questioning.

Lets make quick some hate pictures and paroles and spread them in the world… enough people will like and share this bullshit and my page will become famous.

Well, on the other side… there is always someone who is doing something and always someone who let it do with them self.

So… that needed to be said.

On that note
Gordon

Imagine you wake up one day and your bank account has been plundered…

Hi.

Imagine you get up one day and someone took money from your bank account. Without asking you, without your permission.
What will you do? Police, criminal complaint, trying to get the money back? I think that would be the normal way, isn’t it?

Well, exactly this just happened. Not (only) with me. But with all customer of Cyprus banks. And the money wasn’t withdrawn by a militant hacking group. No, it was withdrawn by the bank itself. Confused? Let me try to explain with the information I got out of several news feeds.

So… it’s known that Cyprus is also in the crisis. It was asking for 17 billion Euro from the EU relief fund. The EU decided they’ll get 10 billion Euro now. But before they decided that the Cypriots also have to ‘help’. More precisely the finance minister of the IWF and the EZB decided a forced fee of 6,75% of all bank accounts up to 100.000 Euro and 9,90% over 100.000 Euro. This amount will be taken of all accounts in a Cyprus bank.
Just like that?

Yes, just like that. Without any notice before, without asking. On friday the world was still fine for the Cypriots. On Saturday morning not anymore, the money was already frozen and first after that they spread the information about this forced fee in the news. Now is bank holiday in Cyprus and the banks open first on Tuesday again, that’s why they deactivated also the transfer forms in the online banking. To prevent that the people transfer their money to bank accounts outside of Cyprus.

And that is not everything. There is no law for such actions. This will be done till Tuesday. Basically that means that first you condemn a criminal and after you make the law on which this condemn is based on.

With this step Cyprus attains 5,8 Billion Euro from bank accounts in Cyprus banks. Expropriation… that reminds me on war. And – to be honest – I wouldn’t be surprised if something similar would be happen on Tuesday, when the banks are open again and the money is really gone.
Cypriots are not that willing to resort to violence as Greeks … but they also hold back their rage. … We will see.

Now we could say ‘Yes, it’s correct like that. The EU is also paying 10 Billion Euro. Then the Cypriots can also help by themselft.’. Correct so far. But there is no selection. It hits everybody. The millionaire as well as the unemployed, the pensioner, the father who saved money for the wedding of the daughter, the son who worked hard for years to make their family a good home…

Also Cyprus just became a guinea pig. Because if this works here in Cyprus, then they can do it also in other countries. With more bank accounts, to get more money.
If I try to imagine that they do the same in one month in Greece… it will end very badly.

Ok, lets wait and see what happen on Tuesday, when the banks open again. If the money is really gone and if they made this law. Without law, no fee.

On my bank account nothing happen so far. Except that I can’t transfer any money. But I’ve heard from other people they they froze this amount already or even took it from the account. But how correct this information are, I can’t say or prove.

I’ll write an update next week, when I have more information… if I’ll be still here and not already on the run.

Best regards
Gordon

Focus stacking – How to get more depth of field

Hi,

today I’d like to write some quick words about my new playing around (it’s late already).

After I started a few weeks ago with macro photography, I realized quickly that there is a big disadvantage. The depth of field is very small. I like to go to the maximum magnification factor I can get out of my 35mm macro lens (which is 1:1). As bigger as better :) But in this case the depth of field is below 1 mm (approx).

But what is the depth of field? It is the area on the photo with is sharp. It doesn’t really matter for landscape pictures, because here is mostly everything sharp. More already it matters at portrait photography. But here is it ‘just’ a technique for pictorial designing and wanted.

At the macro photography is the camera not “asking” anymore if we would like to have some sharp and blurry areas. It is just like it is. Sure, we can use a smaller aperture  (is this correct in English?… damn… hard to write gobbledygook in English… sorry) till it’s dark… doesn’t really help. Ok, in compare to the highest aperture is it a difference, but still not a lot.

And here we come to focus stacking. It’s a special technique. And as the name is saying it already.. we stack the focus (of several pictures) to one clear focused picture.

Here my “model” from today. :) Bit below you can see the the picture of the bloom.

How does it work?

“Very simple”. :) As I just said, we need several pictures. The focus of each picture is shifted in a way that the summary of all pictures together is one single sharp picture. Sounds complicated? It’s simple.

Lets say we have a bloom of 1cm depth, which we want to have full in focus / sharp. Our depth of field (per picture) is 1,5 mm.

Now we start at the beginning of the bloom and make our 1st picture. Then we focus 1mm behind the 1st focus point (0.5mm we leave for overlapping). And so we create our “focus slices” till the end of the bloom. In this example it should be 10 single pictures.

Now we add this pictures into a special software for focus stacking. There are several out there. Just ask Google for “focus stacking software”. I personally use CombineZP, it is free but not so simple to use and maybe also not so powerful then other solutions).

The software is doing exactly what I said before. It takes your pictures and is combining them in a way that at the end it will give us one single picture which combined the sharp areas of all 10 pictures together. If we was working correctly, it will create us an image of a bloom full in focus (sharp). If we wasn’t working correctly… then there will be blurry spots in the picture (like I had today all the time).

The stupid thing is, that you see only after all the steps when you wasn’t working correctly. :(

The  stacked’ picture of the flower (see above). When you have a closer look, you can see that there are still blurry areas. Here I wasn’t working accurate while making the pictures. :(

So, is it that simple? No, not really :)

It should be clear that during the whole process neither the camera nor the object should move at all. It means you need to use a tripod and the ‘model’… well… that to do. Choose a model which doesn’t mode at all… a tree for example :) If you’d like to make a focus stack of an animal… be very quick.

Then there are 2 different techniques to do the focus stack. You can put the focus on your camera to the manual mode and then focusing direct on the lens (veryy carefully).

Or you get a focusingrail. Which is the better way. The camera will be screwed on the focusingrail and the rail will move basically the whole camera… accurate to the millimeter. And, of course, with the camera is also the focus range moving. To make it more simple are on the focusingrail already measuring scales.

I’ve got a fourway focusingrail. Not just for the focus stacking. Also that I don’t have to move the tripod always… 1cm to the left, 2 cm to the front, 5 cm back… to get my object in focus when I make some macro shots. It’s a very helpful tool for this kind of photography.

And when you see the difference between a normal macro picture and a focus stack… then you see quickly that it worth the work ;)

Ok, so far from my side today. If you have questions or you’d like to say anything… just leave me a comment. I’d like to see that people read my blog ;)

Cu soon

Gordon

Seifenblasen fotografieren

Hallo zusammen,

gestern habe ich eine neue Fotoidee entdeckt und musste das natürlich gleich Ausprobieren. ;) Natürlich möchte ich euch die Ergebnisse und ein kleines Tutorial nicht vorenthalten. :)

Nachdem ich nun schon mit Wassertropfen, Dinge ins Wasser fallen lassen (Pitsch-Patsch) und Makros rumgespielt habe, ging es heute an Seifenblasen.
Ja, genau. Die runden Dinger die Kinder so mögen und gern durch die Luft fliegen lassen ;)

Also eigentlich ging es um gleich 2 Dinge.
Wer Seifenblasen draußen in der Sonne fliegen lässt, der hat sich sicher schon mal über die Farbenpracht dieser runden, durchsichtigen Wasserblasen erfreut. Warum die Seifenblasen so schön bunt sind … ist kompliziert :D
Zum anderen ist gibt es sehr interessante Fotos wenn sie zerplatzen.
Wenn man sich die beiden Punkte so durchliest, dann dürfte schnell klar werden das der 2. Punkt wesentlich schwieriger einzufangen sein dürfte als der erste. Denn die Seifenblase zerplatzt so schnell, das dass Menschliche Auge es nicht einmal erfassen kann. Doch die Praxis sah (in meinem Fall) ein wenig anders aus.

Als erstes versuchte ich also die bunten Spiegelungen der Blase.

Ich habe mich ein wenig im Internet belesen und wusste daher das Licht das wichtigste ist. Kein Problem, ich habe ja 2 Blitze zum entfesseln (also Ferngesteuert und unabhängig von der Kamera). Dazu braucht man natürlich auch noch Seifenwasser. Das ist nicht schwer zu erstellen. Ein bisschen Wasser in ein Glas und Seife / Spülmittel dazu. Für den ersten Schritt habe ich noch ein wenig Glyzerin hinzugegeben, damit die Blasen stabiler sind und ich mehr zeit habe sie zu Fotografieren.

Der Aufbau war auch sehr simpel. Das Glas auf ein Tisch gestellt, ein Blitz von oben, ein Blitz von der Seite, meine Schreibtischlampe in Position auf die Seifenblase (zum Fokussieren). Vor dem Tisch das Stativ mit meiner E-620 und dem 35mm Makro.

Das Feuer in der Blase

Und dann ging es auch schon los. Seifenblase mit einem Strohhalm geblasen. Die Blase ein wenig am Strohhalm ‘runterrutschen’ lassen, so das sie in sich geschlossen ist und am Strohhalm klebt. Dann das ganze auf das Glas gelegt und versucht zu Fokussieren. Natürlich manuell, der Autofokus ‘guckt durch’ und findet keinen Punkt. Aber auch manuell ist es nicht so einfach eine ‘Wand’ der Blase zu finden. Und dann Abgedrückt… und schnell wurde klar… irgendwie wird das so nix.
Die Blase war weiterhin durchsichtig und nur die Stellen wo meine kleinen Softboxen die Seifenblase erhellt haben, waren bunt bzw. mit den Mustern überzogen.

Und so ging das Improvisieren los. Eine große Softbox habe ich leider nicht. Also Papierwände aufgebaut und durch diese Geblitzt. Hat so aber auch nicht funktioniert, da die immer noch zu klein waren. Durch die Kugelform müsste man eine Blitzfläche von oben, unten, links, rechts und vorn haben. :( Doof.

So gab es nur Resultate mit stellenweise bunten Seifenblasen.
Ich denke hier ist es wirklich besser das ganze draußen, in der Sonne, zu probieren. Wobei es dann wirklich Windstill sein müsste.

Ein paar interessante Fotos konnte ich dennoch machen.

Das Meisterstück des Versuchs

Und dann ging es zum 2. Teil meiner Seifenblasenspielerei. Die zerplatzende Seifenblase.
Der Aufbau blieb dabei gleich. Blitz von links, Blitz von oben und Kamera vor dem Schreibtisch auf einem Stativ. Fokussiert habe ich diesmal einfach den ‘Aufprallgegenstand’.

Seifenblasen sind ja bekanntlich recht instabil und Zerplatzen sehr leicht. Also bräuchte man ja nur etwas spitzes und ‘ditscht’ mit der Blase darauf. Das sollte gehen.
So habe ich mir einen Zahnstocher auf dem Schreibtisch fixiert und eine Blase gemacht und ‘ditsch’… war der Zahnstocher in der Seifenblase… die keine Anstalten machte zu zerplatzen. Super…

Dann kam mir das Glyzerin in den Sinn, das ja mit im Wasser war. Also neue Mischung angesetzt. Nur Wasser mit ein bisschen Spülmittel. Und nächster Versuch… das gleiche Ergebnis. Aber die Blasen waren schon wesentlich instabiler. So habe ich mir eine größere ‘Aufprallfläche’ gesucht. Ein altes Bonbon musste herhalten (welches auf den Fotos auch gleich gut aussieht :D ).

Aber auch das Bonbon brachte nicht wirklich das Ergebnis, welches ich erhoffte. Die Seifenblase wanderte nun einfach vom Strohhalm auf das Bonbon über… sah ja auch gut aus… aber nicht was ich wollte.

Und dann fand ich den Trick. Ich musste die Blase so lange ‘aufpusten’ bis die grün-rot schimmerte. Dann wurde die Wand anscheinend so dünn das sie instabil wurde. (Ich denke die Farben variieren je nach Mischung und verwendetem Mittel.)
Wenn die Blase in dieser Kondition war, dann zerplatzte sie sofort beim ‘aufprall’.

Seifenblase platzt von oben nach unten

Und nun war es nur noch eine Frage des Timings. Und das ist auch schon sehr hart. Denn die Blase zerplatzt so schnell das dass Auge es nicht einmal erfassen kann. Sie ist da und im nächsten Moment ist sie schon weg. Ich habe sehr viele Fotos vom Moment gemacht als Sie noch da war und genauso viel als sie dann schon weg war. Doch… ein paar mal hatte ich auch Glück und erwischte sie im richtigen Moment. :)

Also es ist wie immer… nicht einfach, aber die Ergebnisse sind schon genial. Besonders die Platzenden Blasen finde ich total klasse. Wenn man noch eine bessere Ausrüstung hat, dann kann man sicher noch bessere Ergebnisse erzielen.

Achso, vielleicht dazu noch ein paar Worte. Sehr wichtig ist hier, wie auch bei den Wassertropfen, das die Blitze eine sehr geringe Abbrenndauer haben. Denn diese frieren das Geschehen überhaupt erst ein.  Meine beiden Yongnuo YN 560II habe ich auf kleinste Stufe (1/128) gestellt.

So, hoffe es gefällt und bei Fragen einfach einen Kommentar hinterlassen ;)

Viele Grüße
Gordon

Deutschland mal wieder das Buhmännchen

Hi.

Gestern hatte ich ja schon kurz über die aktuelle Lage über die Zwangsenteignung der privaten Finanzen in Zypern geschrieben. Da gibt es bis heute nicht soo viel neues. Jedenfalls nichts konkretes. Soweit ich gelesen habe ist noch immer keine Entscheidung im Parlament gefallen. Man will jetzt wohl erst einmal nachverhandeln.

Ohne Worte

Aber etwas anderes ist mir gerade bei Facebook über den Weg gelaufen. Das nebenstehende Bild Die nebenstehenden Bilder wurde von einer Gruppe in Facebook gepostet (nur eine kleine Auswahl der letzten 10 Stunden).Und die Bilder werden fleißig geteilt (share). Als Kommentare sind Hassparolen auf Deutschland zu lesen.

Und ganz ehrlich, es kotzt mich an. Egal was in der Eurozone passiert, Deutschland hat schuld. Angela Merkel wird in den meisten Fällen zur Buhfrau auserkoren.

Angela Merkel zeigt jemandem den Mittelfinger, beim Versuch Geld vom Geldautomaten abzuheben.

Zur aktuellen Geschichte… ob die Leute, die das Bild ‘kreiert’ haben, wissen das der Beschluss über die Zwangsabgabe von den Finanzministern der EU beschlossen wurde und nicht von Angela Merkel oder Deutschland? Ich bezweifel es.

Und es ist ja nur das aktuellste Beispiel. Ich habe die Form von Bildern schon damals gesehen, als in Griechenland die Luft brannte. Und noch heute ist Deutschland das Hassland Nummer 1… unter denen die Hilfen bekommen haben.

Ich bin kein großer Patriot (falls hier der Gedanke darüber aufkommen sollte). Aber das geht echt langsam zu weit.
Ob die Leute wissen das Deutschland mit den meisten Prozenten im EU-Rettungschirm hängt. Deutschland bezahlt 29,07% der Gelder die im großen Topf sind und ist damit Nr. 1. Dahinter Frankreich mit 21,83% und gefolgt von Italien mit 19,18%.

Hier wird Deutschland mit dem Zypern-Konflikt gleich mit eingebunden. Jetzt sind wir auch noch diesem Krieg schuld.

Das heißt Deutsche Bürger bezahlen 392,40 Milliarden Euro für die Rettung von anderen Staaten und sie werden dafür gehasst.
Ich habe mich schon bei der Griechenland-Aktion – als die Hass-Parolen auf Deutschland losgingen – warum man nicht einfach den Mittelfinger ausstreckt und das Geld lieber wieder ins eigen Land steckt. Wenn Hilfe mit Hass beantwortet wird… Sorry, aber da hätte jeder normale Mensch schon die Freundschaft gekündigt.

Noch ein “schönes” Gemälde. Einziger Kommentar zu diesem Bild ‘Hitler Woman’… braucht es da noch Worte?

Wieso es jetzt nun gerade Deutschland ist… und nicht Frankreich oder Italien oder irgendein anderes Land oder vielleicht mal die die das wirklich entscheiden, was passiert und welche Auflagen mit einem Rettungspaket verknüpft sind: nämlich die EU… das weiß wahrscheinlich niemand mehr genau. Nur eines wissen die Leute… wenn die Kacke am Dampfen ist, dann wird wohl Deutschland mit Angela dran schuld seid.

Naja, auf der anderen Seite gibt es auch immer jemanden der etwas macht und jemand der es mit sich machen lässt…

So… musste mal gesagt werden.

In diesem Sinne.
Gordon

Stell Dir vor Du wachst eines morgens auf und dein Konto wurde geplündert…

Hallo zusammen.

Stell Dir mal vor das Du eines Morgens aufwachst und jemand hat Geld von deinem Konto abgebucht. Ohne Dich zu fragen, ohne deine Zustimmung.
Was machst Du? Polizei, Strafanzeige, versuchen das Geld zurück zu holen? Ich denke das wäre der normale Weg, oder?

Nun, genau so ist es gerade passiert. Nicht (nur) bei mir. Sondern bei allen Kunden von allen zypriotischen Banken. Und das Geld wurde nicht etwa von einer militanten Hackergruppe abgehoben, die alle Bankkonten geknackt haben. Nein, es wurde von der Bank selbst abgehoben. Verwirrt? Ich versuche es mal so zu erklären wie ich es gerade aus einigen Zeitungsartikeln entnommen habe.

Also… Zypern ist ja bekanntlich in der Kriese. Es hat 17 Milliarden Euro aus dem EU Hilfsfont beantragt. 10 Millionen soll es nun bekommen. Doch vorher hat die EU angeordnet das die Zyprioten selbst in die Pflicht genommen werden. Genauer gesagt haben die Finanzminister der IWF und des EZB beschlossen das von allen zypriotischen Bankkonten 6,75% bei unter 100.000 Euro Guthaben und 9,90% über 100.000 Euro Guthaben als Zwangsabgabe abzuführen sind. Dieser Betrag wird also einfach so von den Konten abgebucht.
Einfach so?

Ja, einfach so. Ohne vorherige Ankündigung, ohne zu fragen. Am Freitag war die Welt für die Zyprioten noch in Ordnung. Am Samstag morgen nicht mehr, dann da war das Geld eingefroren und erst danach wurde die Nachricht über die Zwangsabgabe bekanntgegeben. Da hier nun gerade Feiertag ist und die Banken erst am Dienstag wieder öffnen, wurden auch sämtliche Überweisungsformulare im Online-Banking deaktiviert. Damit soll verhindert werden das dass Geld noch schnell online ins Ausland überwiesen wird.

Und das ist noch nicht alles. Es gibt gar keine Gesetzesgrundlage für diese Aktionen. Die soll erst bis zum Dienstag noch geschaffen werden. Das heißt quasi das man erst einen Verbrecher verurteilt und dann erst das Gesetz schafft, auf dem die Verurteilung beruht.

Mit diesem Schritt wurden ca. 5,8 Milliarden Euro von den Bankkonten auf zypriotischen Banken erbeutet. Zwangsenteignung… das erinnert mich irgendwie an Krieg. Und ich würde mich – ehrlich gesagt – nicht wundern wenn etwas ähnliches am Dienstag hier passiert… wen die Banken wieder öffnen.
Zyprioten sind zwar nicht so gewaltbereit wie die Griechen… aber sie lassen ihrer Wut auch gern freien Lauf. Wir werden sehen.

Nun könnte man sagen ‘Ja, richtig so. Die EU zahlt ja schließlich auch 10 Milliarden Euro. Da können die Zyprioten auch selbst was zu geben.’.  Soweit korrekt. Nur wurde hier nicht selektiert. Es trifft jeden. Den Millionär genauso wie den Arbeitslosen, Rentner, den Vater der für die Hochzeit seiner Tochter gespart hat, den Sohn der für das Haus für seine Familie jahrelang hart gearbeitet hat.

Auch ist Zypern damit gerade zu einem Versuchskaninchen geworden. Denn wenn es hier funktioniert, dann kann man es ja auch in anderen Ländern machen. Mit mehr Konten, um mehr Geld zu kriegen.
Wenn ich mir vorstelle das in einem Monat das gleiche in Griechenland abgezogen wird… das wird böse enden.

Nun bleibt abzuwarten was hier am Dienstag passiert, wenn die Banken wieder geöffnet haben. Ob das Geld wirklich weg ist oder ob der Gesetzesentwurf nicht durchgegangen ist.

Auf meinem Konto hat sich bis jetzt noch nichts getan. Außer das ich kein Geld überweisen kann. Von anderen Leuten habe ich gehört das Geldbeträge schon eingefroren bzw. “abgebucht” sind. Inwieweit das stimmt, kann ich nicht genau sagen.

Ich werde nächste Woche noch mal ein Update dazu schreiben, wenn ich genaueres weiß… sofern ich dann noch hier sein werde und nicht vielleicht schon auf der Flucht…

Viele Grüße
Gordon

Focus Stacking – Wie man bei Makros mehr Schärfentiefe erreicht

Hallo zusammen,

heute möchte noch ganz kurz über meine neusten Spielereien schreiben (ist ja schon wieder spät).

Nachdem ich nun vor ein paar Wochen mit der Makrofotografie angefangen habe, merkte ich sehr schnell das diese Form der Fotografie einen großen Nachteil mit sich bringt. Die Schärfentiefe (oder Tiefenschärfe… wie man es mag) ist sehr gering. Ich reize gern den 1:1 Abbildungsmaßstab meines 35mm Makroobjektivs aus. Um so größer, um so besser :) Doch reduziert sich besagte Schärfentiefe hier schon auf unter 1mm (Pi mal Daumen).

Was ist Schärfentiefe eigentlich? Nun, das ist der Bereich der auf dem Foto scharf abgebildet ist. Bei Landschaftsfotografie fällt das nicht besonders auf, da meist alles scharf ist. Bei Personenfotografie arbeitet man schon gern mit der Schärfentiefe. Um z.B. die Person freizustellen und den Hintergrund unscharf zu machen. Dabei ist es aber meist eher ein gewolltes Gestaltungsmittel.
Bei der Makrofotografie wird man nicht gefragt ob hier oder das was unscharf gemacht werden soll… es ist einfach so. Da kann man Abblenden bis man nur noch dunkel sieht… hilft nix. Naja, im Vergleich zur Offenblende hilft es schon was, aber meist reicht es bei weitem immer noch nicht.

Und hier kommt ein Trick ins Spiel. Oder besser gesagt eine bestimmte Technik. Diese heißt Focus Stacking. Es gibt dafür keinen offiziellen deutschen Begriff. Frei übersetzt heißt es so viel wie ‘Fokus Stapeln’. Und das wird auch gemacht… man Stapelt den Fokus (von verschiedenen Bildern) um so ein schönes scharfes Bild zu erhalten.

Hier mal ein “Model” von heute. :) Weiter unten dann das Bild der Blüte.

Aber wie funktioniert es?
“Ganz” einfach” :) Wie schon gerade gesagt werden mehrere Bilder angefertigt. Dabei wird der Fokus immer so weit verschoben, das er noch ein wenig mit dem, im vorherigen Bild, überlappt. Man kann sich das in Scheiben vorstellen. Nehmen wir eine kleine Blüte von 1cm tiefe, die wir komplett scharf haben wollen. Unser Schärfentiefebereich ist 1,5mm. Dann fangen wir ganz vorn an und Fokussieren auf die Spitze der Blüte und machen ein Foto. Dann Fokussieren wir auf einen Punkt 1mm dahinter (so hätten wir noch eine großzügige Überlappung von 0,5mm). Nächstes Foto. Dann wieder 1mm dahinter, Foto… und so weiter. Bis wir am Ende der Blüte angekommen sind. In unserem Beispiel ca. nach 10 Bildern.

Nun nehmen wir diese Bilder und laden Sie in eine spezielle Software für Focus Stacking. Es gibt hier verschiedene. Einfach mal Google Fragen. (Ich nehme CombineZP. Ist kostenlos, aber sicher nicht die einfachste und beste Lösung.)
Die Software macht nun das was ich schon angesprochen hatte. Sie nimmt die Bilderreihe und rechnet diese so zusammen, das die jeweils scharfen Bereiche in einem Bild vereint werden. Nur wenn wir ausversehen einen Bereich nicht scharf abgelichtet haben (weil man z.B. die Überlappung vergessen und zu weit im nächsten Bild fokussiert hat), dann kann die Software auch nicht Hexen und der Bereich bleibt unscharf… so wie es mir heute ständig passiert ist.

Das ‘gestackte’ Bild der Blüte (s.o.). Wenn man jedoch ganz genau hinsieht, dann erkennt man noch unscharfe Bereiche. Hier habe ich geschlampt beim erstellen der Bilder. :(

Ist es nun so einfach? Nee, nicht wirklich :)
Es sollte klar sein das sich bei dem gesamten Vorgang weder das Motiv noch die Kamera auch nur 1mm bewegen sollte. Das heißt definitiv ein Stativ benutzen und das Motiv… naja, was will man machen. Ein Baum wird sich mit Sicherheit nicht viel Bewegen – also der Stamm. Ein Tier wird schon viel Schwieriger. Hier könnte man es mit Schnelligkeit versuchen.
Dann gibt es im Grunde 2 Methoden um die Fokussierung vorzunehmen. Entweder man stellt auf manuellen Fokus und dreht den Fokussierung des Objektivs immer minimal weiter (so wie man es braucht).
Oder man besorgt sich eine Makroschiene. Welches die optimalere Variante wäre. Bei einer Makroschiene wird die Kamera auf eine bewegliche Schiene geschraubt, die man dann Millimetergenau bewegen kann. Das heißt es wird nicht mehr an der Kamera rumgefummelt, sondern die ganze Kamera wird verschoben (womit dann auch der Fokusbereich natürlich verschoben wird). Zusätzlich haben die Schienen auch gleich ein Maßeinheit dran. So kann man (mehr oder weniger) genau sehen was man gerade einstellt.

Ich habe mir eine Makroschiene besorgt. Nicht nur für das Focus Stacking. Auch im nicht immer das Stativ bei Makroaufnahmen 1cm nach link, 2 nach vorn, 5 nach schräg hinten… schieben zu müssen. Das kann ich jetzt mit der Makroschiene schön fein einstellen.

Wenn man sich jedoch einmal den Unterschied zwischen einem einfachen Makro und einem ‘gestackten’ Makro ansieht, dann erkennt man schnell das sich die Arbeit lohnt. ;)

Ja, soweit, so gut. Ihr könnt mir auch gern Fragen stellen oder sonstige Kommentare hinterlassen. Freue mich immer wenn mal jemand ein Lebenszeichen hinterlässt… und das hier auch jemand meinen Blog liest.

Bis Bald
Gordon